Holograms

Here’s a video that, if you haven’t seen it already, might shock you, intrigue you, scare you, or delight you. It’s the first time I’ve ever seen anything like it: computer-synthesized music artists. However, these electronic “artists” aren’t just remaining as audio files, they’re evolving into concert-capable holograms. Check out the video.

First, it’s a little breathtaking how far she sounds from being remotely human. Second, I’m amazed at how involved and stimulated the crowd is. Which brings me to think about how this could possibly be related to architecture…

Is it possible to create spatial experiences from things that are computer synthesized? If so, how does this change the way we design or even the end product? I can imagine that if I could create a holograms, I would test materials, colors, different floor plans, etc. It could also be used to give a more accurate representation to a client or to the designer. And with another video that I stumbled upon, these holograms could even transcend beyond just visual stimulation!

This then brings me to another thought about our curriculum at school. I think opportunities to incorporate computer science education to our architectural studies should be more available. After all, we do attend a school that competes with M.I.T. in that subject. Why not take advantage of the resources and apply it to architecture? I’d like to hear your opinions on this because personally, I think this is the direction that architecture is leaning towards: programmable architecture.

Sharon

One Comment on “Holograms”

  1. This is really cool Shar, and I agree with you on how awesome (for lack of a more appropriate term) it would be to use things like this in architecture. But I think we’re a long way from learning or exploring things like it in a school setting. It’s one of those areas that you really have to master in order to utilize architecturally; remember Pablo’s showing of that computer program in the 1970s that was something like a touch screen version of AutoCad? It didn’t take off because it was too big of a step forward, while everyone else was still fiddling with the concept of computers. I think if an architect became really enamored with the idea and built a team around producing hologram-level plans, etc, and they did very well, something might grow out of that.

    When I did a quick search on this, I found that there’s this company, Zebra Imaging (based in Texas) that created things like this already. Amazing! I’m going to post the the video, because I don’t know how to in a comment!


Leave a Reply

