SoArch: The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Much like Jason’s post, while in Hong Kong, I accidentally ran into a showing of graduate student work from the Chinese University of Hong Kong. It was a little strange because I was actually wandering around a very large department store in an area called Admiralty, and all of a sudden there was this installation. Thinking about it now, I think it’s a great idea to display work like this in a more public setting rather than an art gallery or studio only attended by a small percentage of the public. Here, graduate students laid out notebooks and pens free for people to write comments, and what I thought was great was seeing people as young as age 7 write their questions and comments.

I thought this graphic representation was amazing. And to answer the seven year old's question, I think it was 3D printed! Too bad some of them broke.

Maybe it’s because I’ve lived in a small suburb my whole life where the only kind of architecture appreciated are track homes and lavish “Tuscan” mansions, but it wasn’t until around two years ago that I was exposed to student architectural work. I think there needs to be more of these random happenings of student architectural work in public areas, not only in larger cities, but everywhere.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had a lot of fun looking at all the work and if the exhibition of the Yale work is still up, I highly recommend students nearby to check it out!

 

Sharon

Leave a Reply

