Summer Activities

Congratulations, Class of 2015, for surviving our first year of architectural schooling! With summer now at our doorstep, I’m hoping everyone will share their adventures: from the seemingly mundane to the exhilarating. It’s also a fun exercise to try to take lessons from what we do outside of architecture school and apply them to our education. For instance – ceramics!

I’ll be taking ceramic classes over the summer, and since my aunt works at the studio, I’ve been able to come in and have some sessions with her before classes officially start.

Adobe Art Center (For those from Northern California, this studio is in Castro Valley).

All the wonderful glazes!

The pro.

The novice (Here I’m centering the clay).

Pulling the clay (I think I’m making a mug in this one).

All in about 3 hours of work. (Dinnerware for next year?)

Centering in process.

So, to somehow relate this to architectural education.. Well, one thing that I found really fascinating during this process was the amount of focus I was able to put into what I was working on in front of me. I would become so immersed in looking at what I was doing that everything that wasn’t the same distance from the piece to my eye was blurry. Not only was my mind blocking out external stimulus, my physical body was doing it too. If only I could achieve that intensity of focus when drawing or making models, but I think with this experience in mind, I think I’ll be able to do so.

I look forward to hearing about your adventures!

Sharon

One Comment on “Summer Activities”

  1. Paul Bracchitta says:

    Dude that’s chill! Congrats!


Leave a Reply

